The glorious old Church of Igbaras lie in ruins beside the town’s new church. Built in 1878, the old limestone church of Igbaras used to have a big convent and was one of the longest churches in Iloilo.
Unfortunately, both structures were heavily damaged during an earthquake in 1948 named Lady Caycay, though others claim the church got destroyed by a great flood which ravaged the town.
What’s left today is the altar, which has been transformed into a grotto of the Virgin Mary, and a section of the church wall, which was rebuilt into a charming adoration chapel. Stones from the old structure could also be found scattered around the church grounds and in the front yard of nearby homes used as decor.