The competition for the Dinagyang Festival 2010 is still as hot as ever with at least 18 groups registered for the Dinagyang Ati competition and 9 entries for the Kasadyahan competition.

Dinagyang Festival 2010

Aside from winning the grand prize trophy and money, the champion of the Dinagyang Festival will get to represent Iloilo City and Province in various national and international events including the much anticipated Aliwan Fiesta 2010 in Manila.

The Aliwan Fiesta is the ultimate festival showdown in the Philippines. During previous Aliwan Fiestas, Iloilo sends two participants (one of Dinagyang Ati and Kasadyahan) to compete with other festival champions in the country.

Here’s the list of tribes for the upcoming Dinagyang 2010:

Dinagyang Ati 2010 Competition:

  • Tribu Molave
  • Tribu Ilonganon
  • Tribu Aninipay
  • Tribu Atub-Atub
  • Tribu Pag-asa
  • Tribu Bantu
  • Tribu Salognon
  • Tribu Himal-us
  • Tribu Panagat
  • Tribu Paghidaet
  • Tribu Milagrosa
  • Tribu Silak
  • Tribu Bola-Bola
  • Tribu Pana-ad
  • Tribu Pan-ay
  • Tribu Angola

Let’s see if two-year defending champion, Tribu Paghidaet still will be able to secure their crown this year from fierce competitors Tribu Bola-bola, Silak, and Ilonganon. Tribu Pan-ay is also another group to watch as reported in due to shuffling of principals in two high schools in the city. Also, two of the “mediocre” tribes last year were not permitted to join the Dinagyang 2010.

Kasadyahan 2010 Competition:

  • Tribu Pantat of Zarraga
  • Tribu Tangyan of Igbaras
  • Tribu Tambubu of Ajuy
  • Tribu Tubong-Tubong of Tubungan
  • Tribu Pandayan of Badiangan
  • Tribu Tinuom of Cabatuan
  • Tribu Kasag of Banate
  • Tribu Gimanban of New Lucena

Tribu Kasag of Banate was declared the champion of last year’s Dinagyang Festival. They were able to land second place in the Aliwan Fiesta 2009, even edging out Tribu Paghidaet, which placed third. More entries for the kasadyahan competition are expected to be revealed in the next few weeks.

Learn more about the Dinagyang 2010.

  • Dinagyang 2010 Schedule