Touted as the oldest sailing competition in the Asia, the Paraw Regatta is a race among traditional sailboat enthusiasts along the scenic body of water that separates Iloilo and the island paradise of Guimaras. It was held last February 10-17, 2008 and race route runs for around 37 kilometers from Villa Beach in Arevalo District to Fort San Pedro in Iloilo City and back to Villa Beach.

Over the years, the event has grown into a full fledged festival complete with side events such as Pinta Layag (Sail-painting contest), the Pinta Tawo (Body-painting contest), Luces in the sea (A fireworks display), a Japanese paper balloons display, a samba torch parade and competition, a food festival, a miniature sailboat race, a jet ski slalom competition, a beach football competition, a beach volleyball competition, and the Miss Iloilo Paraw Regatta 2008 search. Recently, the Association of Tourism Officers in the Philippines (ATOP) has awarded the Paraw Regatta Festival as the 3rd best tourism event in the Country.

Aside from the colorful paraws, tourists and guests get the chance to try the gastronomic experience at restaurants along Villa Beach. Among the specialties of these restaurants are fresh seafoods and delicious lechon.

Here are some pictures of the Paraw Regatta 2008:

More Paraw Regatta 2008 Pictures

Here are videos of the first ever Luces in the Sea Fireworks Display

Videos by Bernardo Arellano III

Here are the winners of the Paraw Regatta 2008:

Sailboat Race Category A:
First Place – “Joseph 1” owned by Rogelio Gareza of Parara Sur, Tigbauan; built by Fediricio Tantiado Jr.
Second Place – “Joseph 1” owned by Rogelio Gareza of Parara Sur, Tigbauan; built by Fediricio Tantiado Jr.
Third Place – “Arlyn” owned by Orlando Demetillo of Camangay, Leganes; built by Orlando Demetillo

Sailboat Race Category B:
First Place – “Kristine” owned by Oscar Espinosa of Sto. Niño Sur, Arevalo; built by Henry and Jade Tañagras
Second Place – “Din-Din and Kent” owned by Ulyses Toreno of Camangay, Leganes
Third Place – “Cherilyn” owned by Rogelio Gareza of Parara Sur, Tigbauan; built by Federico Tantiado Jr.

The first prize winner in the Category A received P14,400 cash prize; 2nd – P9,600 and 3rd – P7,200 and for the Category B, the 1st prize winner received P18,000 cash prize; 2nd – P14,000 and 3rd – P12,000. Painted sailboat owners received an additional incentive from the Iloilo Paraw Regatta Foundation Inc. (IDFI).

Miniature Paraw Race Category A
First Place – Dintag
Second Place – Palos
Third Place – Jomy

Miniature Paraw Race Category B
First Place – Boknoy
Second Place – Nina and Issiah
Third Place – 2 B

3rd Samba de Regatta
First Place – Grupo Latino
Second Place – Grupo Ilonggos
Third Place – Grupo Los Amigos
Fourth Place – Scandinavian/Musica